DeLa Doll the Businesswoman ft. Etsy vs Storenvy

3

February 22, 2016 by DeLa Doll

I recently made the decision to open up an online hair bow shop on Storenvy (if you’re wondering why I didn’t go with the ever-popular Etsy, I’ll get to that in a moment). You can check it out here.

Background

Well, I fucking love cute shit. Especially cute hair shit. Especially when that cute hair shit is bows. And my bows are special. My bows are handmade by yours truly, and feature original designs based off of Kawaii fashions and nerdy fandoms, so smash that mf “BUY” button. I’m being gracious enough to share this love with you, when I could just keep these bomb ass designs for myself and make all the other Kawaii girls and boys hella jelly. So, you know, you’re welcome.

 
Why Though?

I decided to start my own business in an effort to make some money to feed to my cosplay demon and maybe even avoid getting a “real” job. My struggle to find a regular 9-5 despite my qualifications has led me believe starting my own business is the way to go. So far I have three designs, and I think personally they’re 

Pretty

Here’s me modeling my Sailor Moon themed bow

 Fucking 

And here’s me modeling my night magic bow

 
Cute.

And here’s me modeling my Spyro the Dragon inspired bow.

Why Not Etsy, DeLa Doll?

When I mentioned that I was going to be using Storenvy for my shop, a few of my friends wanted to know why I didn’t go with the current king of online marketplaces for crafters: Etsy. Sooo, here’s my reason for crowing Storenvy as my business bae:

1. Unlike Etsy, Storenvy doesn’t charge shop owners to add listings. 

  • The listing fee on Etsy is $0.20 per listing, which sounds small but really adds up. If I add a bunch of listings to Etsy and don’t make any sales the first month, I’ll be in the negatives as far as profit goes because Etsy will charge me just for having the products listed. This isn’t a one time fee, either; each time the item sells, the listing fee is charged. In addition to the listing fee, Etsy also takes 3.5% of each sale made. 
  • As far as paying these fees goes, Etsy bills you on the first of each month. You can set up auto-billing or pay your bill manually. 
  • Personally, taking on another bill when I trying to use a shop to pay my bills doesn’t sound appealing. 
  • Storenvy, on the other hand, simply takes a 10% fee of the total price of a sale (shipping included), meaning they don’t take money that I haven’t even made yet. There’s no bill to pay at the end of the month, so there’s nothing to worry about there. 

2. Storenvy seems a lot more dedicated to the cause of empowering small business owners, while it appears as though Etsy is moving away from that core value with their relatively recent decision to allow mass produced and manufactured goods on the site, which goes directly against their previous “we’re all about handmade goods and individuals and shit of that nature” message. 

3. Setting up shop on Storenvy is a lot easier than it is on Etsy. I’ve had an etsy shop before and found the process extremely overwhelming. Storenvy literally walks you through the process, and I’m all about that convenience. Storenvy is a bit more user-friendly in my experiences with both sites. My only gripe is that they don’t yet have a mobile app, while Etsy does. 

Basically, I’m a broke college mom who’s trying to earn an honest living with a business endeavor I’m excited about: the last thing I need is be charged just for having my products listed. Storenvy seemed like the best alternative to Etsy, and I’m confident that’ll it meet my needs.

Technical boring business stuff aside, I’m gonna be adding some more designs to my shop over the next couple of days, and then I’ll start taking custom orders. The bows are inspired by games and movies and anime and all that other dorky shit that I like. I’m also super open to suggestions, so if you want to see a particular game or show or whatever immortalized in the form of a cute ass hair accessory, comment below and I’ll create a design! Additionally, if you know someone who’d like this sort of thing, share the post and send them my way!

3 thoughts on “DeLa Doll the Businesswoman ft. Etsy vs Storenvy

  1. Cystrocity says:

    That black bow is so cute!! I’m a sucker for cute, dark things!! ><

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

